Friday 12 November 2010

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

New Chair of the UKPHR Board

Mon, 08/24/2009 - 11:14

Professor Jim McEwen will be stepping down from his post as Chair of the UKPHR Board formally in September 2009. He originally took up the post for an interim period of one year in May 2003 but has remained for six years.

The UKPHR, through his leadership, professionalism and dedication has achieved a great deal in the last few years and he will be missed by everyone who has worked on the register, both in the early days, and those who continue with the work today. He will be missed by all at the UKPHR.

In May 2009 the Executive Committee and the UKPHR Board accepted a nomination for Peter Farley to become the Chair Elect of the UKPHR. This was then agreed by the UKPHR Board.

Peter Farley has been involved in the UKPHR since its inception. He has been journeying along the broad path of public health for more than thirty years after an early career in education. Recently, Peter has held several senior posts within the Welsh Assembly Government, including responsibilities for health protection and public health development, in which role he was an early champion of the Register and an observer member of the Board.

Dr Lillian Somervaille, the Vice Chair of the UKPHR Board said ‘it has been a pleasure to have Jim as Chair and without his guidance the UKPHR would not be the recognised regulator that it has become in public health. He will be sorely missed. His good humour has seen us through some challenging times, and on a personal and professional level I wish to thank him for all his hard work. I would also like to welcome Peter Farley into the chair, and I look forward very much to working with him.’

These sentiments are echoed by the Chair and Vice Chair of the Registration Panel, Professor George Morris and Dr Brendan Yates, and the rest of the UKPHR Board.